Sharing Versions and Projects
Sharing your projects using 3DUserNet VISION is one of the main benefits of the platform and allows you to give everyone an interactive 3D view of your data.
Obviously though, you want to make sure whomever you are sharing it with has the right level of access and features for their needs. That is why VISION has a number of different ways to share.
The most secure way of sharing is to add a person to your account or Usernet, so they can have their own personal login to the platform and can access projects within those Usernets. The diagram below shows, in the blue boxes, the types of users that can be added. It also lists the features that they will be able to access. The pink area highlights the sharing types for external (non-account) users who can navigate 3D views but will not have any other functionality.
Account Users
Admin
- Manage Account
- Create Usernets
- Add Users
- Create Projects
- Upload Data
- Save Tasks / Versions
- Take Measurements & Annotations
- 3D Navigation
Publisher
- Manage Account
- Add Users
- Create Projects
- Upload Data
- Save Tasks / Versions
- Take Measurements & Annotations
- 3D Navigation
Creator
- Manage Account
- Create Usernets
- Add Users
- Create Projects
- Upload Data
- Save Tasks / Versions
- Take Measurements & Annotations
- 3D Navigation
Non-Account Users
- Invite Guest: Sends a time-limited link via email
- Open Link: Generates a URL to share or put in an iFrame
Adding Admin Users
Admin users have full privileges in an account and have access to all the Usernets inside an account as well. For this reason, they are added at account level. Follow the steps listed below to add a new Admin user to your account.
- Go to the Account tab on your VISION dashboard.
- The lower section of the Account page shows the Admin users. You can select the ‘Add User’ button in the top right of that section and it will open a dialogue to add the details for the new user.
- Fill in the details of the user and click the ‘Add User’ button in the dialogue to complete. The user will be sent an email to allow them to set their password and then they can login to the account with their details.
Adding Publisher / Creator / Viewer Users
Publishers, Creators and Viewers are associated with specific Usernets in the account and they will have access to any Projects inside the Usernets they are added to. The steps below describe how to add users to Usernets:
- On the VISION dashboard, go to the ‘UserNets’ tab.
- Select the UserNet that you want to add them to and click the ‘Manage Users’ button.
- This will open the tab that shows the users in that UserNet. Click on the ‘ADD USERS’ button which will open the dialogue to add their details.
- Now you can enter their details and choose a role for them (Publisher / Creator or Viewer) and also whether you want to grant them access to Document Files in Projects and the ability to download Project Datasets.
- After you have entered the details and chosen the options required then you can click the ‘Add User’ button to complete. Then an email will automatically be sent to the user to allow them to complete their account setup and choose a password.
Inviting Guests
You can use the Guest Invite to allow people without account access to view the 3D scenes. It creates a time-limited link that gets emailed to them and they can click the link to open the 3D View. This type of sharing is ideal for temporary third-parties to see the Versions of projects that you want to share. The steps below describe two ways to share a Guest Invite.
Method 1
- In the 3D View ensure you have saved a version of your task and have that task ‘Activated’ so it is the 3D View that is currently being shown. Then use the ‘Share Icon’ on the bottom right of the screen to bring up the sharing dialogue.
- Enter the name, email, and selected date for the link to expire and click ‘Send’. This will email the person to give them a link to the 3D View.
Method 2
- Open the Data Management area and go to the Tasks/Versions tab.
- Select the Version you would like to share and click the Invite Guest button to open the dialogue similar to Method 1. You can then enter the details and it will send the link to the Guest.
Creating Open Links
Open links are great for sharing 3D Views longer term with non-account users. They have no expiry but can be switched on and off using a toggle switch for each Version. Open Links are also useful for embedding in iFrames on your website if you want to give a wide audience of users access to a 3D View. To create an open link, follow the steps below.
- Open your 3D View for a specific task and then open the Data Management area and go to the Tasks / Versions tab.
- Select the version you would like to share and then toggle the ‘Open Link’ switch. This will enable it.
- Once the switch has been made active, click on the ‘Link’ icon and it will open a dialogue with the URL for the Open Link. This can then be used however you need, whether you want to email it to someone or use it on a webpage or iFrame.